Santouka Ramen is my favourite places to go for Ramen.  Funny enough, Santouka is often times food court ramen.  Even in Japan.

img_8319Shio (salt) Ramen  ($6.49)

img_8321Miso Ramen (6.49)

img_8322Ikura Gohan

Now I also go next door to Miyabi-Tei where they specialize in bento, soba, curry and donburi (rice bowl dishes).

img_8324Oyakodon with Unagi Kabayaki
simmered egg with grilled ell coated in a sweet sauce

img_8325Tofu side

I don’t remember what they call this.  It’s simply a cube of topped with dried fish flakes, green onion and their soy sauce.  So light but delicious!

I also go to Daikichi Sushi for their pre-made sushi/sashimi selection.  It’s noted as the “Best Grocery Store Sushi in LA!”  and possibly all of Southern California. 🙂

img_8316Various (discounted to $13.95)

Not bad.  Though you can tell the sashimi is not as moist as it would be, just made.  Still, its quite fresh and satisfactory.

img_8318California Roll + Unagi Roll

Their selection is huge.  I usually just grab at the ones I’m familiar with.  As for ramen, some people prefer Ajisen (which I hate), Orochon (Little Tokyo) or Shin-Sen-Gumi (Torrance / Gardena).  I like miso broth best though Santouka’s specialty is supposively the Shio.  Oh well!  🙂

Another thing, during the summer Santouka serves this cold ramen dish, Hiyashi Chuka.  In a way, it’s like a noodle salad.  It’s simply cold ramen noodles topped with sliced cucumber, bean sprouts, and egg omelette.  And possibly chia su.  The sauce is a mixture of soy sauce, vinegar, and sesame oil.  It’s very simple but oh-so delicious!!

I just love Mitsuwa!  Their foodcourt is not too pricey, while the quality remains great.  Especially the one in Torrance and Costa Mesa.  In case you’re wondering, I have tried the one in San Diego and it is terrible. GAH!

Mitsuwa Marketplace
21515 Western Ave
Torrance, CA 90501
(310) 782-033

Mitsuwa Marketplace
665 Paularino Ave
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
(714) 557-6699